Zamir Khan – Labour candidate for Audley in 2016

Zamir Khan who is Mayor of Blackburn with Darwen during 2012-13, has been resident in Blackburn since 1977 and lives in the heart of the area and has served as councillor for

Audley since 2004. He is one of the founder members of the Queens Park/Audley Asian Forum, qualified as an advisorthrough Citizens Advice Bureau and a qualified Community Interpreter. He has served as a school governor at Audley Junior, Infant and Nursery schools, is a member of the Audley and Queens Park Sure Start Board, and has served on various Community Associations. I work closely with local Mosques, Churches and schools. And has experience in various council committees such as Social Services, Planning and Highways, Licensing, Leisure, Finance and Education.

Telephone: 01254 682891

Your Audley Labour Councillor – Yusuf Jan-Virmani


2015 Election Result

Yusuf-Jan Virmani       Labour           2598

Saleem Kapadi               Con             949

Majority:                                             1649

Turnout:                                            60.63%

As a local businessman known as Jan, married with 2 children and a member of Blackburn with Darwen council for over 21 years, I have attained the necessary experience required to help tackle problems concerning both the local community and the business sector.

Having served on various committees, I am now the Executive member for Neighbourhood and Customer Services. I have been a governor at St Thomas’s School for 25 years and I am also a trustee of the East Lancashire Hospice and a board member for Sure Start.

Telephone: 01254 681010

The 2014 result was as follows:

Joan Bamber (Con):  306

Salim Sidat (Lab):   2129

Turnout:  41.8%

Majority:  1823


Councillor Salim Sidat

I’m Salim Sidat and I have been you ward councillor since 2010, An honest, trustworthy, Councillor, voice with vision, focus and a track record of consistent delivery in the community at all levels. I have a record of achievement in the local community and have worked hard over the years to help local residents. I care passionately about Audley, and believe Audley and Daisyfield needs councillors who will stick up for the area.

  • Fought Hard to get the Bus Service Reinstated
  • Investment with local firms and created jobs for local people
  • I believe residents are the area’s experts and often know what is needed to solve local problems.
  • Fighting hard to give residents a better quality of life
  • Managed to get Audley Range resurfaced
  • I strongly oppose the privatisation of our hospital and will do my utmost to stop profit being put before the needs of Blackburn

In these times of Tory and Lib Dem cuts and Attacks on the poorest in Society, Blackburn Labour Council has battled hard to make sure that essential frontline services are protected.

In The Audley Ward we have been hit hard by these Cuts, but with local groups coming together with Council Officers and Councillors we have managed to make sure the impact has been less than would have been. We have made sure the elderly and the most vulnerable have been looked after, we have had regular Clean Up’s in trouble spots and made sure we have tried to keep them clean.

Ways of Getting in touch

(M) 07973657542


(Twitter) @sidatsalim

(Linkdin) Salim Sid Sidat

(Facebook) Audley & Queens Park Community Association




Councillors Jan-Virmani and Khan hold advice surgeries at the neighbourhood learning centre, Pringle Street, Blackburn, every Wednesday at 10am and at Audley community centre, Chester Street, every second Thursday of the month from 10am. Surgeries are also held at Accrington Road community centre, Daisyfield community centre and the QAAF centre, 40 Walter Street. Check centres for availability.

Past election results:

Year/candidate name Party Votes Elected
Peter Greenwood Independent 493
Tahir Mahmood Labour 1777 E
Alfred Olaiya Conservative 571
Salim Ridha Lib Dem 143
2004 (all out election – 3 vacancies)
Yusuf Jan-Virmani Labour 1476 E
James Kenyon Conservative 542
Zamir Khan (later defected to Labour) Lib Dem 1521 E
Tahir Mahmood Labour 1208 E
Alfred Olaiya Conservative 604
William Taylor Labour 1135
Salim Lorgat Lib Dem 1271 E
Tahir Mahmood Labour 1090
Yusuf Jan-Virmani Labour 1240 E
Salim Makda Lib Dem 921
David Smith Conservative 363
Saadat Ali Independent 100
Athshaam Hussain Lib Dem 1102
Zamir Khan Labour 1214 E
Saadat Ali Independent 200
Salim Lorgat Lib Dem 1473
Salim Sidat Labour 1901 E
Saadat Ali Conservative 318
Yusuf Jan-Virmani Labour 2202 E
Ayaaz Diwan Conservative 245
Zamir Khan Labour 2006 E