Shaukat Hussain – Labour candidate for Bastwell in 2016

I’m Shaukat Hussain and I have lived in the Bastwell area for nearly 40 years. I have been active within the voluntary sector for 25 years and I am the chairman and senior shop steward for the Unite Union (Region North West, Branch 792). I feel privileged to have been selected as your Labour candidate in this year’s elections. I have been working hard across the ward dealing with numerous individual problems as well as campaigning on major local issues.

I promise to work all year round to make Bastwell a better place for everyone.

Your Bastwell Labour Councillor – Iftakhar Hussain

Coun Iftakhar Hussain








2015 Election Result

Iftakhar Hussain (Lab): 2920
Abid Hussain (Con): 474
Majority: 2446
Turnout: 65.37%
Iftakhar was brought up in this area and has lived in Blackburn for over 30 years. He has been a local businessman, and very much understands the needs of the local community in this area. He is married with children who are going to local schools. Iftahkar is an executive member of Bangor Street Community Association and was formerly a Parent Governor of Brookhouse Primary School.
Telephone: 07880 883899 Email:

The 2014 result was as follows:

Bilal Afzal (Con):  435

Parwaiz Akhtar (Lab):  2412

Turnout:  54.9%

Majority:  1977


Your Labour Team in Bastwell

Councillor Parwaiz Akhtar

Parwaiz has lived in Blackburn for over 37 years and has been a Labour Party member for over 25 years. He is married with three children who are all studying at university and has worked at Training 2000 Ltd, Blackburn for over 15 years. Parwaiz has been active within voluntary work for over 25 years providing help, guidance and assistance on many issues to people from the community, charity work and fundraising, organising events and helping to set up and develop community action groups. Currently he is a member of the North West Neighbourhood Board.

Telephone: 07951 593 929


Surgeries are help from 6pm – 7pm every second Wednesday of the month at the Kashmiri Association and every last Wednesday of the month at Bangor Street Community Centre
Past ten years’ election results:
Name/Year Party Votes cast Elected
Valerie Gollop Liberal Democrat 330
Mohammed Khaliq Labour 2110 E
Salim Sidat Conservative 599
2004 (all out – three vacancies)
Gulzamir Ahmed Liberal Democrat 766
Parwaiz Akhtar Labour 1241 E
Nazira Begum Libral Democrat 890
Fazal Choudhry Conservative 616
Iftakhar Hussain Labour 1097 E
Mahfooz Hussain Labour 1214 E
Hamid Khan Conservative 591
Salim Lorgat Liberal Democrat 906
Tariq Mahmood Conservative 683
Sajid Ali Liberal Democrat 1530 E
Iftakhar Hussain Labour 1030
Beverley Law-Riding Conservative 206
Musa Haldarvi Liberal Democrat 1308
Iftakhar Hussain Labour 1316 E
Christopher Tattersall Conservative 202
Parwaiz Akhtar Labour 1351
Mohammed Rizwan Liberal Democrat 1582 E
Parwaiz Akhtar Labour 1967 E
Saj Ali Liberal Democrat 1923
Saj Ali Liberal Democrat 1404
Iftakhar Hussain Labour 1840 E
Naseer Sajid Conservative 98
Mohammed Ayub Conservative 1099
Shaukat Hussain Labour 2134 E