Beardwood with Lammack

Paul Mason – Labour candidate in Beardwood with Lammack for 2016

Labour candidate - Paul Mason
Labour candidate – Paul Mason

Paul Says:

I have lived in Blackburn for the last 30 years. Originally from Walsall, I am a graduate of Birmingham and Salford Universities. I am married to Gillian, a recently retired teacher. After Uni I joined I  EMI working in commercial entertainment management then  spent 16 years in local government ending running the theatres and museums in Swansea.  After 2 years working for Hill Samuel, the investment bankers, I enjoyed 13 glorious years as head of marketing for Blackburn College. I was Chair of Thwaites Empire Theatre for 4 years and currently serve as a Trustee of Blackburn CVS and Healthy Living. I have been a Labour member since the late 70s. as it is clearly the only party that offers real opportunities for everyone to reach their full potential without fear or favour. I am keen to represent Beardwood as I believe, by voting Labour, I offer the chance to give a voice to this crucial area of Blackburn within the majority party. I am keen to meet as many of you as possible and look forward to doing so in the coming weeks.

The coalition government has made huge cuts to the budget of Blackburn with Darwen Council and this has put vital services at risk. These public spending cuts are falling very heavily on Northern towns with high levels of deprivation while wealthy areas in the South of England are left untouched. This is completely unfair because it puts a serious burden on the social fabric of towns like Blackburn and is one of the major reasons behind the alarming increase in citizens who need to use foodbanks. With your support, I hope to be able to join a Labour Council that is trying to protect the most vulnerable citizens from the effects of these unfair cuts whilst also trying to build up the prosperity of the town by attracting new jobs into the borough.

2015 Election Result

Michael John Lee (Con): 2064

Mahfooz Hussain (Lab): 1164

Turnout: 70.51%

Con Majority: 900

I am delighted to have been selected by the Labour Party to stand as a candidate representing the Beardwood with Lammack ward. I’ve lived in Blackburn for over thirty years and have three grown up children who went to local schools. I am the Operational Director For Domiciliary Care Service, providing care support to the young & elderly vulnerable community within the Northwest. I consider my personal background, career achievements and values makes me the right person to be your councillor.

Labour closing in on the Tories

Paul Mason scores Labour’s best ever result in Beardwood with Lammack

The 2014 result was as follows:

Imtiaz Ali (Con)  1035

Paul Mason (Lab)  916

Turnout:  43.7%

The ward is now no longer a safe Tory seat after a strong performance by Labour’s Paul Mason.


Jack Straw

Constituents can contact Jack in a variety of ways:

Telephone: 01254 52317
Post: Jack Straw MP, Richmond Chambers, Richmond Terrace, Blackburn, BB1 7AS

In addition to arranging a meeting with Jack personally, Jack’s dedicated staff are available in the Constituency Office situated in the town centre. Appointments are neccesary and are available between 10am and 1pm, to make one just call the telephone number above.

Jack also maintains a blog on this site.

Local election results since 2001

Name/Year Party Votes cast
Saima Afzal Labour 519
Brian Dunning Liberal Democrat 422
Sheila Williams Conservative 2092
2004 (all out – three vacancies)
Dennis Baron Labour 342
James Hurst Conservative 1655
Michael Lee Conservative 1711
Judith Moss Labour 500
Elaine Whittingham Labour 372
Sheila Williams Conservative 1930
James Hurst Conservative 1504
Ashley Whalley Labour 432
Gill Askew Liberal Democrat 318
Michael Lee Conservative 1531
Carl Nuttall Labour 259
Donna Bowlay-Williams Labour 353
Sheila Williams Conservative 1586
James Hurst Conservative 1973
Ashley Whalley Labour 1227
Michael Lee Conservative 1256
Salim Lorgat Liberal Democrat 134
Ashley Whalley Labour 691
Julie Daley Conservative 1076
Ehsan Raja Labour 640
Jonathan Tranter GreenParty 163