Livesey with Pleasington

IMG_3343Charlotte McKenna – your Livesey with Pleasington Labour candidate

I am delighted to be your local Labour candidate in Livesey with Pleasington again this year.  Livesey with Pleasington is my home. I care about this area and I understand the local issues.  I was also educated locally at Feniscowles Primary School and then at Westholme Upper School. For the past two years I have worked for a North West Labour MP, helping people every day.  If elected, I will work hard for local people and fight for better representation for our community.

During my election campaign last year, I spoke to many residents who told me that they thought it was time for a change from the Conservatives in Livesey with Pleasington. Whilst the area is one of Blackburn’s more affluent districts, local investment is still needed.  Local residents told me that our area needs someone with the enthusiasm and drive to get a fair deal for our community. I am keen to be there to campaign for that investment as well as helping you with any day to day problems you may be facing.

Labour’s support in the ward has been growing in recent years and we have more than halved the Conservative majority.  There is now a genuine choice for residents in Livesey with Pleasington about who they would like to represent them on Blackburn with Darwen Council.

2015 Election Result

Derek James Hardman (Con): 2629
Charlotte Mary McKenna (Lab): 1224

Turnout: 71.91%
Con Majority: 1405

2014 – Charlotte McKenna receives almost 900 for Labour

The 2014 election result was as follows:

Charlotte McKenna (Lab):  874

John Pearson (Con):  1376

Turnout:  42%

About Charlotte

Charlotte is 23 years of age and lives in the Livesey with Pleasington ward on Old Gates Drive. She was educated locally at Feniscowles Primary School and then Westholme Upper School, and she currently works for a North West MP, helping residents with a variety of issues.

Charlotte says: “Many of my neighbours and friends in Livesey with Pleasington have told me that they are fed up of being taken for granted by our current Conservative councillors, and they want a local councillor who will be seen, be active and who cares.

“At the last few elections more and more people in the ward have come out to vote Labour. With your support on May 22nd I promise to do things differently. ”

Charlotte’s pledges:

·         Keeping our streets clean – working with you

·         Improving our highways – fixing local roads

·         Supporting the police to tackle crime and anti-social behaviour

·         Ensuring local residents have a voice in local planning developments

·         Labour – supporting job creation

The Tories and Liberal Democrats like to claim we are better off under David Cameron’s Government. But the opposite is true.

Prices continue to rise faster than wages, and hardworking people across Blackburn are finding themselves worse off as a result of the Government’s savage cuts, which are affecting our communities and public services. Blackburn’s Labour Council is making tough but fair choices to protect the vital local services we all rely on and minimise the damage to our town in the face of harsh reductions in Government funding.

The Tories are showing once again that they only ever stand up for a privileged few, not for hardworking families, the elderly and the vulnerable in society.

Jack Straw

Constituents can contact Jack in a variety of ways:

Telephone: 01254 52317


Post: Jack Straw MP, Richmond Chambers, Richmond Terrace, Blackburn, BB1 7AS

In addition to arranging a meeting with Jack personally, Jack’s dedicated staff are available in the Constituency Office situated in the town centre. Appointments are neccesary and are available between 10am and 1pm, to make one just call the telephone number above.

Jack also maintains a blog on this site.


Local Election Results Since 2001

Name/Year Party Votes Cast Elected
Edna May Arnold Independent 811
Derek James Hardman Conservative 1738
Jessie Hickmott Liberal Democrat 835
Alan Cottam Conservative 1995 E
Henry Dickinson Labour 384
Joan Doherty Labour 465
Derek James Hardman Conservative 1984 E
Maura Bridget Madigan Labour 379
John Paul Murphy British National 499
John Simpsons Williams Conservative 1744 E
Jessie Hickmott Liberal Democrat 400
John Paul Murphy British National 527
William Pickup Labour 351
John Simpson Williams Conservative 1384 E
Ray Ashworth Labour 324
Derek James Hardman Conservative 1770 E
Jessie Hickmott Liberal Democrat 262
John Paul Murphy British National Party 351
Katie Louise Haworth Labour 1236
John Pearson Conservative 2660 E
Jamie Groves Labour 797
Derek James Hardman Conservative 1743 E
Alan Cottam Conservative 1263 E
Annete Clare Murphy Labour 701