Wensley Fold

Quesir Mahmood

Your local Labour Councillor working for Wensley Fold

Quesir MahmoodI feel privileged to have been selected to represent Labour in the Wensley Fold ward for the local council elections. I am married with 4 children who are all at schools/university; I attended Beardwood High school, and gained my BTEC National Diploma at Blackburn College. I graduated from Manchester Metropolitan University with a degree in Applied Sciences. I am working in the pharmaceutical industry as a project manager. I have been active within the voluntary sector for over 15 years, and I am a member of the East Lancashire Hospitals Trust. Having grown up in the Wensley Fold area, I have a real passion to give something back to the community. I already know a lot of people in Wensley Fold and have a good understanding of the needs of the whole community. I hope you will support me in this election





2015 Election Result

Quesir Mahmood (Lab): 1900
Ghulam Sabir (Con): 575

Turnout: 52.79%
Majority: 1325

The 2014 election result was as follows:

Mohammed Khan (Lab):  1557

Ghulam Sabir (Con):  311

Turnout:  38.3%

Majority:  1246


Labour’s Team in Wensley Fold

Cllr Dave Harling

Dave HarlingDave was first elected to the Council in 1986 and represented Mill Hill ward for 14 years. He then represented Corporation Park Ward but since 2004 has had the pleasure to have been the local councillor for the ward in which he lives – Wensley Fold. Dave has lived here since moving to Blackburn in 1981 and has raised his family of 3 children alongside his wife. Dave has held a number of positions on the Council over the years as well as being involved with various community groups and acting as a school governor. Dave says “For me, helping groups of residents or individual people has always been one of the most important things about being a councillor. At the moment the biggest job in the Town Hall is challenging the Coalition Partnership when they propose stupid or unworkable schemes. For instance, they have got rid of our community festivals in the parks and replaced them with a big tent in the town centre – that nobody wants to go to!”

Telephone: 01254 676822
E-mail: dave.harling@blackburn.gov.uk

Kate_Hollern_croppednew1Cllr Kate Hollern

Kate Hollern has represented the Wensley Fold area on the Council since 1995. Originally from Dumbarton, she moved into the area from Scotland with her family over thirty years ago. Kate knows the area well having lived in various houses on Johnston St, Wensley Road, Lawrence Street and Dowham St. She worked for many years at Newmans Shoes where she was a Manager and is presently Contracts Manager at Blackburn College. She lives with her partner John and has two grown up daughters Donna and Katrina and a granddaughter Scarlett. Whilst on the Council Kate has held many senior positions and is presently Leader of the Labour Group. Despite her prominent Council role she works tirelessly within the ward taking up personal issues as well as raising community concerns.

Telephone: 01254 773273
E-mail: kate.hollern@blackburn.gov.uk

Cllr Mohammed Khan

For the past 18 years Mohammed has represented the Old Bank Top ward and now the Wensley Fold ward on the Council.  During which time he has played an active role on the Council.  Mohammed has held the position of Executive Member for Housing, Deputy Leader of the Council and in 2008-2009 Mayor of the Borough.  In 2007 Mohammed was awarded an OBE in the Queen’s New Years Honours.

Telephone: 01254 696935
E-mail: mohammed.khan@blackburn.gov.uk


Your Labour councillors hold a monthly surgery on the last Saturday of the month at Bank Top Community Centre from 11am to noon.


Local Election Results Since 2001

Name/Year Party Votes Cast Elected
Margaret Miller Conservative 622
Donald John Rishton Labour 1498 E
Khizar Ul-rehaman Suleman Liberal Democrat 296
David Harling Labour 1141 E
Catherine Malloy Hollern Labour 1091 E
Adalat Khan Conservative 447
Ghanzafar Khan Liberal Democrats 384
Mohammed Khan Labour 1082 E
Ahmed Gulzamir Liberal Democrat 509
Mohammed Khan Labour 1221 E
David Harling Labour 1088 E
Mark Slater Conservative 424
Mohammed Khan Labour 1926 E
Naseer Sajid Conservative 653
Lorraine Chesterson Conservative 277
Waseem Hassan Liberal Democrat 50
Kate Hollern Labour 1465 E
Asghar Ali Conservative 347
Dave Harling Labour 1463 E